Translating Customer Service to Social

Posted on Updated on

Image

“Be everywhere, do everything, and never fail to astonish the customer.” Macy’s Motto

I am amazed at how many companies still don’t understand how to effectively utilize social media platforms, especially in regards to customer service. Times are changing and it is no longer enough to simply offer customer service through a hotline. Everything you do as a company should be translated to all of your social media platforms- communication, customer relationship management, promotion, and often the most important of all… customer service.

I recently had a very positive experience with social media customer service, which seems to be a rare service among most companies. The company that gets customer service? Fossil, Inc.

Recently, I had my watch strap connector break for the third time in the past year. Usually in the past, I would drive 40 mins to a Fossil outlet and they would replace the connectors free of charge. However, I did not have the time to make that trek this time around. I called the outlet store and needless to say, they told me to buy a strap or a new watch and there was nothing that they could do.

My next step? Test their social media customer service. I tweeted my frustration right to Fossil, Inc.

Image I did not expect much of a solution, however I was pleasantly surprised.

Image

Not only did I receive a response FOURTEEN minutes after my post, they placed an order for a new watch strap to get sent to my house all within an hour. This, my fellow readers, is a company that gets it. Customer service is one of the biggest drivers of brand loyalty- you only have a small window of opportunity to turn a bad experience and possible lost customer into a meaningful opportunity to make a relationship and connection.

Image

As a company, you have to go out of your way to not only meet customer’s needs and desires, but you have to ASTONISH customers. That is what makes the difference between an ordinary company and an extraordinary company. You can bet that I will be a Fossil customer for a long time and all it took was one hour.

2 thoughts on “Translating Customer Service to Social

    Sara Barge said:
    September 16, 2013 at 2:11 am

    Ania-Lee, this was such an interesting read! It was such a good idea to take to social media in order to see if any action would be taken from a company. It’s interesting to see a company such as Fossil change their stance as soon as their public image is at stake. Even though Fossil was at first lacking in customer service, their prompt response and efficiency make them stand out as a company. Thanks again for sharing your story!

      Ania-Lee responded:
      October 18, 2013 at 4:12 pm

      Thank you Sara for the comment! It was definitely a great way to turn around a bad experience.

Share your ideas and thoughts with me. What do you think?

